The Robert Chatterton Trophy

Trevor Heath and Kieron Bonner with Trevor's Rider of the Day trophy.
Trevor Heath and Kieron Bonner with Trevor's Rider of the Day trophy.

The Wainfleet and District Sporting Motorcycle Club’s Robert Chatterton Trophy Super Speed track event went ahead as planned on Sunday morning after heavy rain.

The rain had stopped by 12 noon and racing was put back an hour.

Youth winners on the podium at the 2015 Robert Chatterton Trophy.

Youth winners on the podium at the 2015 Robert Chatterton Trophy.

The weather was actually a benefit, as it put the track in ideal racing conditions.

Unfortunately the weather resulted in a smaller than normal crowd, but for those that did attend, they were treated to some fantastic racing.

A great opening to the Wainfleet’s Club season of 2015, with close racing in adult Solo and 1000cc Sidecars.

The club also incorporated a small youth program, with some excellent improvements seen on some of last year’s young riders. Mickie Simpson still proving to be one of the most up and coming in his class, was first in the Motorcross 65 Class and second in the Junior Grasstrack Class.

In the 1000cc Sidecar event, the club’s own Colin Blackbourn with passenger Carl Pugh led every race from start to finish. Second place taken by Peter Lloyd and Terry Madley who tried all day to pass Colin to no avail, third place taken by Simon Heal with passenger Jay Perking.

Trevor Heath and passenger Kieron Bonner are showing big signs of improvement, winning Rider of the Day, in only their second season of racing.

They had travelled down from Newcastle.

In the 500cc Solo class first place was Rob Finlow from Kidderminster, second was Ben Millichip from Tenbury Wells and in third place Andrew Whitaker from Dewsbury.

In the 350cc class, Manchester’s Andy Mellish took the honours from Bob Dolman from Kent, (last year’s 350cc club champion) and Edward Bales from Norwich took third place.

As ever, the 250cc Solo class produced some top class racing.

Former British Masters champion David Knowles came out the winner, Trevor Clarricoats from Nothamptonshire, was second and Mark Williams, from Hull, was third.

In the junior races, the Auto Cadet Class (six-eight year old) was won in impressive style by young Luke Harrison.

Max Perry took the Cadet Class from Ashton Vale, Liam Cox earned third place.

In the junior category (nine-11 years), Harry McGurk took the win from local Mickie Simpson and Jake Mulford took third who also took Youth Rider of the Day.

Henry Atkins took the intermediate title from Josh Parnell Hylton and Milo Griggs came in at third place.

The club’s next event is the David Nix Memorial meeting on July 5 at the Irby-in-the-Marsh venue, with the now famous International Lincolnshire Poacher on August 30, at the Thorpe St-Peter Venue.

For more information see or call 01754 880659.