Skegness Ladbrokes Darts League


The Skegness Singles Darts competition took place this week and in the main event in the league, 32 players turned out at the Seaview pub to battle for the top honour in the league.

There were some quality darts thrown from start to finish and the earlier skirmishes saw Seaview teammates Julian Smith take on Eric Hammond.

Eric gained the win 2-0.

The Royal Oak’s Tony Parkin caused a bit of an upset as he beat Arctic Shrew Monkey’s David Tuplin 2-0. Kristian Thein just got the better of Chris Fletcher.

The second round saw Kristian come up against an in-form Mark Forman, as Mark ran out a 2-0 winner. Carl Abbiss defeated Martin Bell 2-1 in a very tight game.

Richard Garner beat Darrell Webb 2-1 and Pete Evans had a close 2-1 win over Shaun Willson.

The match of the quarter finals was Carl Abbiss against Mark Forman, and it was Mark who hit two 180s in the final leg to run out a 2-1 winner.

Sean Barker beat Gordon Mquillan to book his semi-final spot and Richard Garner beat Darrell Webb to meet Tony Parkin in the other semi.

First up was Richard and Tony. Richard earned a 2-1 win to book his place in the final.

Next up was Sean and the inform Mark Forman, with Mark gaining his final spot with a 2-0 win.

The final was, as you would expect, a tense affair with both players having chances in the first leg, but Mark just had the edge.

However, the second leg was always going to belong to Mark as he checked out on 121 in 15 darts to claim the title.

Presentation night is next week at Skeness Working Men’s Club with Jamie Caven.