Lowe’s squad on top in Battle of the Champions

Team Lowe.
Team Lowe.

Team Lowe triumphed as the William Hill Darts League Skegness hosted its Battle of the Champions.

The side of local players captained by oche hero John Lowe took the plaudits against Eric Bristow’s team on Friday night.

Team Bristow.

Team Bristow.

A packed Liberal Club had a real treat as these two legends put bon a show.

The first session saw the captains taking on the opposition in four sets of best-of-three singles.

Old Stoneface Lowe made short work of Chris Fletcher 2-0 before beating Gordon Smith and Mark Gray by he same scoreline before edging past Chris Simpson 2-1.

Next up was Bristow, but Scott Smith hit a 180 on his way to a victory against the Crafty Cockney.

Fans at the Liberal Club.

Fans at the Liberal Club.

Martin Bell added a 180 of his own but Bristow dug deep for the win, also beating Ken Wilson and Terry Cox.

The doubles saw Bristow and Lowe go head-to-head as they teamed up with members of their own squads.

Lowe’s team held a 5-3 advantage after the singles, and he partnered Rick Seaman, Chris Royal, Nick Casswell and Lee Yates against Bristow and his teammates Spencer Davis, Pete Evans, Mark Williams and Mark Forman.

With the scores all square, the decider saw Jamie Cooper teaming up with Lowe to defeat Bristow and partner Lee Woods to claim victory.

Both these two legends were a delight on the night, mixing with the crowd, signing autographs and shirts and supporting their teams all night long.

Lowe hit a couple of 180s, a crowd-pleasing 160 checkout and a couple of bull finishes.

Cein Rymer sponsored team Lowe and Zorbas Kebab House backed Bristow.

Darts pro Jamie Caven will be boarding the Fun Bus on March 19.

He will tour the Seaview Pub, Wainfleet Soicial Club, Burgh’s Red Lion and The Highwayman, showcasing his skills at the oches.

Places on the bus are sold out but you can still drop by the venues to watch the action.

The league’s next Pro-Am qualifier will be held on March 24 at the Ex Service Club.

Entry costs £2 and the winner will qualify to play alongside one of eight pros on November 5.

Entries which make the last 16 or better will score points, with the top point scorers overall making up the final qualifier.

The professionals taking part will be Tony O’Shea, Gary Robson, Colin Lloyd, Darryl Fitton, Scott Waites, Sam Hewson, Jamie Caven and Kevin Painter.