Gray secures place in Pro-Am tournament

Mark Gray with his trophy.
Mark Gray with his trophy.

Mark Gray won the William Hill Darts League’s latest 
Pro-Am qualifier this week.

He claimed victory in the Last Man Standing event at the Ex-Service to book his place in September’s contest, where some of the sport’s top characters will be taking to the oche.

Darrell Webb made a 13-win run.

Darrell Webb made a 13-win run.

Meanwhile, Darrell Webb also ended the evening with credit after going on a fantastic 13-match winning run.

The first man drawn out was Ray Bettison, who got the better of Eric Hammond.

Next to the oche was Darrell, with his customary low draw.

But after beating Ray he went on the most amazing run, winning a further 12 games, the longest sequence recorded in these events.

Darrell played some superb darts, including legs in 15 and 16 darts, a 180 and numerous 140s.

However, he was finally beaten by number 16 Rick Seaman​, courtesy of a 98 finish.

Rick then beat Spencer Davis​ before going down to Steve Gillings.

Steve was knocked out by Mark Gray​, who followed that up with victories against Barry Grenfell, Anthony Hulley, Paul Harrison and Adam Lyall​ to set up a clash with number 24 David Tuplin.

A 16-dart leg saw Mark take his place in the final round against Pete Evans​, but Mark made it a magnificent seven straight wins to claim 
the trophy.

He will now join Lee Yates, Mark Forman, Brad Martin, Martin Bell, Jass Smith​ and Gary Garton​ in the 
Pro-Am event.

The final qualifier takes place on September 4 at the Ex Service, another Last Man Standing competition.

The series culminates on September 6 with a pairs event at the Ex Service, the eight qualifiers will take on the eight pros in a pairs knock out (7.30pm, entry free).

The pros and their sponsors are: Andy Smith (Kirks Quality Foods), Steve Beaton (William Hill​), Jamie Caven​ (Batemans Brewery), Tony O’Shea (Seaview Pub), Peter Manley (, Ian Wight (Just Cuts), Alan Warriner Little (, Scott Waites (Windy’s Cafe) with MC John Fowler (DS Trophies).