Emsen wins in fifth qualifer

It was the fifth Pro Am Qualifier this week in the Skegness William Hill Darts League and a field of 24 toed the oche in this last man standing competition.

Terry Cox drew ball number one and knew it was going to be a mammoth task to win from there, and his opponent was Ken Wilson who just got the win. He then took on Spencer Davis who had his customary low number and Ken triumphed again.

Gareth Jowett was next up, and Ken stepped things up, winning this one in 21 darts. He went on to record seven wins in total, including a cracking 16 darter against Pete Evans, before Gordon Smith ended his amazing run, beating him in a 20 dart leg.

Gordon went on to beat Rick Seaman, but found Brad Martin coming in at number 11 too strong.

Brad then went on a fantastic run beating Chris Simpson, Stuart Giles in 18 darts, and taking out Mark Gray in 17, Jass Smith, Chris Butler in 17 darts with 180, and Chris Fletcher. He then stuck a 20 darter in against Matt Reeson. Wayne Burles was also put to the sword next.

With only four to go, was Brad going to do it from number 11? He beat Carl Parnham, followed by Kieran Emsen, and so it was going to take something special to beat him.

Up stepped Steven Emsen. Brad set himself up for a finish with Steve sitting on 69. A loose couple of arrows meant that Steve had one dart at the bull, and it went straight in the centre. So, after 11 wins, Brad was defeated in the penultimate game.

Steve then played one of the player sponsors, Wayne Sumner in the final, and after his bull finish in the leg earlier, he was not going to let this chance slip as, in a nervy affair, he recorded a narrow win to become the fifth player through to November 6.

Pros and their event sponsors: Colin Osborne - www.thequeensskegness.co.uk, Dean Winstanley - Just Cuts Skegness, Kyle Anderson - Windy’s Cafe Skegness, Chris Mason - William Hill, Wes Newton - Bateman’s Brewery, James Wilson - Seaview Pub Skegness, Devon Petersen - Sweep Solutions, Robbie Green - Home Style Outlet; MC John Fowler - DS Trophies.