Anglers land trophies at presentation evening

Dave Burr receiving one of his trophies from Christine Faithful.
Dave Burr receiving one of his trophies from Christine Faithful.

The Skegness Pier Angling Club’s AGM took place at the New Park Club, followed by the annual trophy presentation.

Trophy and award winners for the past year were: Karl Nangle (C. Smith Cup, RNLI/Carnival), Garry Hutson (Coleman Cup, Dodsworth Cup, Dutton Cup), Dave Shorthouse (Gordon Long Cup), Dave Burr (Ex-Servicemen’s Cup, Derby Miners Cup, Hewison Cup, Beachcomber Trophy, A. Smith Cup), Jim Robinson (Stan Marvin Cup, Carlsberg Trophy), Adie Cooper (Species Hunt, Mrs Wheatcroft Cup, Shipstone Cup), Paul Marshall (Frank Parkins Shield, Festival Trophy, Dave White Cup, Sheffield Cup, Ron Scott Trophy), Neil Cutler and Gareth Gardiner (Lincolnshire Pairs), Fred Donner (Roy Parker Cup), Laura Howard and Dan Jackson (Mixed Pairs), Alan Steadman (Kingsley Cup).

Match Aggregate Points (top three from 25 matches): 1 Dave Burr 181 points, 2 Alan Steadman 132 points, 3 Paul Marshall 128 points.

Match Aggregate Length Winner (from 24 matches): Dave Burr 7091cm.

Fish of the Year Winners: Heaviest Round Fish - Garry Hutson 14lb 11oz smoothound, Heaviest Flat Fish - Adie Cooper 1lb 3oz flounder, Heaviest Silver Eel - Dave Burr 1lb 8oz (68cm) silver eel.

The committee will now comprise Alan Steadman (president), Dean Sumner (chairman), Mark Holmes(deputy chairman), Bev Faithful (treasurer), Christine Faithful (cup custodian), Chas Tibble (secretary, press officer, fish recorder), Dave Burr, Paul Cridland, Mark Holmes and Chas Tibble (match organisers).

An RNLI cheque presentation also saw £100 handed over to the Skegness Lifeboat.

The annual AGM match took place the day after, in ideal conditions at Moggs Eye.

Alan Steadman ran out the winner of the Gordon Long Cup, catching 10 whiting and four flatties measuring 355cm in total.

Over a metre behind in second place came Fred Donner, with an 11 fish mixed bag for 254cm.

Ian Nelson framed in third with eight whiting and a dab for 224cm.

The longest round and flatfish prizes were won by Paul Denholm and Dan Leighton, with a 39cm whiting and a 34cm flounder respectively.

The next SPAC match will be held on March 19 from 2pm-6pm at Trunch Lane, with club members fishing for the Ex-Servicemens Cup.