Skegness Indoor Bowls Club

Sports News.
Sports News.

Representing Skegness in the last sixteen of County Competitions this week were Mandy Brummitt and Bryn Foxon who played in the Mixed Pairs event.

Meeting Lincoln Indoor Bowls Club pair, Sheila Plaskitt and Brian Jackman, the Skegness duo won well with a 28-12 scorecard.

It was not a happy ending for Skegness at Spalding Indoor Bowls Club when Men’s Rinks representatives John Mountain, Brian Hawes, Johnny and Gary Morris found a game against Matt Whyers, Martin Spencer, Ashley Caress and Graham Smith tough going when losing 25-8.

With a 20-18 win through to the quarter finals of the Men’s Pairs are John Mountain and Brian Hawes, who held off the challenge of Trevor Bannister and Nick Barnatt of Sleaford Indoor Bowls Club when playing at Wainfleet Road.

Latest results in the Club Competitions include a 16-14 win in the Men’s Pairs for Bryn Foxon and Peter Hopkins, who entered the last end two shots down in their game with John Thorold and Alan Irving.

In the same event Dave Conroy and Brian Hawes defeated Roy Brummitt and Steve Wiltshire 20-6, and Don Bramley and John Clarke returned to form after trailing Dave Briggs and Graham Simpson to win 24-16.

Mac McAlindon and Rob Rankin were never headed as they won 17-6 against Peter Quickfall and Barry Read.

A very close game in the Club Open Singles resulted in a semi-final win for Alan Irving, who scored 21 shots to Mick York’s 19. He meets Gary Morris, who qualified with a 21-12 win over Dave Warren in the final.

John Mountain won a brought forward heat with Bob Arnold, 21-17, to earn a place in the semi-final of the Club Men’s Singles.

A Thursday trip to Boston Indoor Bowls Club by the Skegness Men’s Over 60s “A” Squad produced only one winning rink in a 114 shot to 81 defeat, two points to 16. The winning rink was Maurice Thorold, Dennis Garratt, Brian Kilby and John Canham, whose score was 23-18.

The regular Saturday afternoon Bowls Drives are proving very popular and last week’s competition was a triumph for Alec Brooks, who was followed home by Peter Sharp, Mary Skeggs and Paul Goodger.