Rothery races to a new best

Share this article

ALFORD Wheelers held their open 25-mile time trial on a circuit in and around Revesby a week ago.

Forty-five riders faced timekeepers Richard and Mary Holland at Frithville, from which the course went to Sibsey and along the A16 to Keal Hill Foot, before traversing the A155 to Revesby, and returning along the seven-mile mile straight to finish at Cowbridge Business Park.

Unusually for this course, the weather was near perfect, and many personal bests were recorded.

The winner was Tony Nash of the Scunthorpe Poly Club in 53 minutes and 13 seconds, with Ian Dalton (Cherry Valley) in second with 55 minutes and 40 seconds.

Doncaster visitor Rob Watkinson finished third in a time of 55 minutes, 42 seconds.

Alford Junior Peter Rothery was fourth with 57 minutes and 31 seconds – a massive personal best by well over a minute. This took the Junior Award.

Alford were amongst the prizes in all the categories, Ryan Thomas took the Schoolboys with one hour, foru minutes and 53 seconds.

The club also took all of the Handicap awards, with, 1, Aaron Rowley, 1h11m25s (Nett 43m23s); 2, Tyler Wright 1h8m32s (Nett 44m32s); 3, Paul Ripley 1h5m37s (Nett 45m37s).

John Potter (1h5m30s) was second in the Veterans age-related Standards with a plus of 15mins and 11secs.

Other Alford times were: 5, Craig Lamb 59m12s; 7, Chris O’Rourke 59m31s; 9, Eddie Kaye 1h1m46s; Peter Page 1h3m26s; Mick Pell 1h3m57s; Brendon Thomas 1h5m33s; Carl Wilkinson 1h7m21s; Phil Boswell 1h8m13s; Joe Ashworth 1h9m21s; Nick Nicoll 1h9m46s; Arthur Middleton 1h9m53s; Dave Ashworth 1h11m07s.