Monkeys do the business

Darrell Webb (left) with Chris Fletcher. 0QiiNWCLbBs0Gqgumodj
Darrell Webb (left) with Chris Fletcher. 0QiiNWCLbBs0Gqgumodj

The William Hill Darts League Cup was won by league champions Arctic Shrew Monkeys.

The semis and final were hosted by the Ex Service Club.

The draw saw league champions Arctic Shrew Monkeys meet runners-up Seaview Oak, while the Liberal Lads faced relegated Ex Service Cobras.

The Monkeys took a 3-1 lead over the Oak, but Kristian Thein and Kev Barker pulled things back to 3-3, leaving all to play for in the pairs.

Monkeys’ Rick Garner and Lee Yates and Martin Bell and Colin Lees won the opening two pairs to put the ties beyond doubt.

Liberal Lads stormed into a 3-0 lead, only to see the Cobras fight back to level at 3-3, Ian Chamberlain and Ray Bettison winning the first pairs to give the Cobras a surprise 5-3 lead.

Enter Terry Cox and Eric Hammond (180, 125, 126) to win their game for Liberal Lads and square the matchat 5-5, before the Cobras pair of Stuart Corsen and Derrick Johnson got the vital win to put them into the final.

But in the top-versus-bottom final, it was the Monkeys who lifted the trophy.

Ian Chamberlain won the first singles for the Cobras, but the Monkeys had other ideas and won the last five singles to lead 5-1.

Roy Parnham and Ray Bettison beat Eric Jonathan James Jeffery and Matt Short to keep the fairytale alive, only to see Lee Yates and Rick Garner shatter their dreams as they won the next doubles to complete a league and cup triumph.

The Ex Service Pro-Am saw Darrell Webb book his place in November’s pairs battle, where he will line up alongside one of the pros.

The Last Man Standing format saw Rick Seaman win the opening two games, the second in 20 darts with a 75 finish.

But he found Jamie Cooper too strong for him, Jamie then defeating Chris Butler before Neale Thomas put an end to his aspirations.

Neale then took on Darrell Webb, who went on a fantastic run in last year, knocking up 13 wins.

But in the smaller field he needed just four wins to succeed.

Darrell made short work of Neale, then Chris Fletcher before dismissing Chris Simpson.

In the final match he met Lee Woods, claiming his fourth victory.

The next qualifier takes place on June 10, a best of three competition.

For details contact Chris Fletcher 07789 405 588.

The pros and their sponsors will be: Colin Osbourne (, Dean Winstanley (Just Cuts Skegness), Kyle Anderson (Windys Cafe Skegness), Chris Mason (William Hill), Wes Newton (Batemans Brewery), James Wilson (SeaviewPub Skegness), Devon Petersen (Sweep Solutions), Robbie Green (Home Style Outlet), Mc John Fowler (DS Trophies).