Jubilee jubilation as Foreshore retain cup

The Foreshore team.
The Foreshore team.

Skegness Foreshore have 
retained the Jepson Jubilee Cup.

The team battled through the preliminary rounds and took on Horncastle Bowls Club in the final.

The teams met at Alford Bowls Club, and Foreshore took an early lead.

It looked like they would easily retain the cup but Horncastle produced a gallant fightback and, with two ends to go, there was only a few shots between them.

On his last end, Horncastle’s Doug Wells tipped the Foreshore shot bowl into the ditch to leave them with three shots.

Foreshore skip Dave Tyers held his nerve on his last end and drew shot which left the Skegness side with a two-shot advantage to run out winners 64-62.

East Lincs bowls league secretary David Newman presented the trophies and cheque to the winners.

Pictured are the team of Mick Martin, Josie Tyers, Gary Kitchen, Dave Tyers, Brian Wright, Brian Kilby, Rob Millar, Rose Amos, John Jordan, Ian Morris, Albert Shepherd and Pete Duke.