Burgh bowlers bask in tournament action

No Caption ABCDE
No Caption ABCDE

THE Burgh Bowls Club held its annual open bowls tournament last Sunday with 66 bowlers enjoying a great day’s bowling.

The winning team was M. Davis, A. Swain and P. Billyead, with second place going to D. Mellar, K. Backhouse and G. Russon.

Third place went to R. Petney, J. Jordon and W. Andrew.

The team of T. Hallsworth, B. Manning and D. Grundy came in fourth.

The club chairman, Geoff Short, thanked Hilary Webb and her team for the excellent refreshments and Mick Webb for organising the whole event, with help from many club members

Special thanks were also given to Coun Jim Dodsworth and his wife Janet for sponsoring the event. The Jim Dodsworth Cup and prize money was then given to the winning teams

The Jim Dodsworth cup will be retained at the bowls club and a replica given to the winning team. Coun Dodsworth expressed his thanks for being made welcome.