All Star Panthers 1, Skegness FC 2

SKEGNESS went into the game having played only once since December 10, a 3-0 win over North Thorseby.

With the lack of match experience, an away match against a team that had previously won every game they played this season, looked like a tough fixture in the Junior Cup.

To add to manager Edgley’s problems, captain Minor was injured, leading scorer Reed was on holiday and Bee and Chapplehow pulled out with sickness on Saturday morning.

The good news for Skegness was the return of last season’s player of the year John Courtney.

In terrible conditions both teams found it hard to play any football due to the fierce cross wind but the first chance fell to Fairburn whose snap shot just went wide.

With 10 minutes to go in the first half Critchlow put Lonslow through and his chip was saved by the keeper.

The second half was proving hard work for both teams as the wind worsened.

Man of the match Hardy covered every blade of grass on the pitch with his nonstop running and after he was brought down on the edge of the box Skegness had a good chance to cause the home defence some problems. Critchlow swung it in for Courtney to head against the post.

With 20 minutes to go Wager limped off with an injury and immediately against the run of play ASP got the opener with a well taken header.

With time running out it looked like it was going to be a bad day for Skegness F.C, but Hardy was not about to let that happen, after Courtney crossed, the loose ball fell to Hardy who smashed it home for the equaliser.

This lifted Skegness and from then on there was only going to be one winner.

Liles’ flick-on fell to Fairburn, it looked like he was running out of play but he managed to lob the ball back over the keeper for the winner with the whole of the Skegness team mobbing him to celebrate.

Manager Edgley said he was proud of his team and the willingness they showed to win.

“The will to win this team has is unbelievable, they never know when they are beat,” he said.

Team: D Simpson; R Muirhead; J Akers; D Wager; J Lyal; M Hardy; J Critchlow; T Lonslow (capt); J. Courtney; J Fairburn; A Liles; M Richardson.