Badenhorst bags dual honours

Share this article

SKEGNESS cricketer R. Badenhorst had two reasons to celebrate when the cream of Lincolnshire cricket gathered recently for their awards ceremony.

He shared the prizes for fielding catches and Onyx Man of the Match with N. Poundall of Hartsholme and W. Nel of Nettleham respectively.

The Readers Lincolnshire ECB Premier League joined forces once again with the County Cricket Club and Lincolnshire Cricket Ltd – formerly the Cricket Board – for the presentation night.

Nettleham were the inaugural winners of the Terry Bates Memorial Trophy, given in memory of the late league chairman and awarded to the club scoring the highest average pitch marks over the course of the season.

But it was the Lifetime Achievement award that had guests on their feet when it was presented to Harry Pougher of Lindum whose club also won the prestigious Wilkinson Sword for the successes enjoyed by their junior sides in 2010.

ECB Premier League winners: League Champions, Bourne CC ; League Runners-up, Sleaford CC.

Winkworth Cup, Bracebridge Heath; Winkworth Cup Man of the Match, J. Scheepers (Bracebridge Heath); The Stroud Family Batting Award, W. Nel (Nettleham); most runs in the season, W. Nel (Nettleham); Lincolnshire Echo bowling award, F. Masood (Bourne); most wickets in the season, F. Masood (Bourne);

Wicketkeeping, O. Burford (Sleaford); fielding catches, N. Poundall (Hartsholme), R. Badenhorst (Skegness); Onyx Man of the Match award, W. Nel (Nettleham), R. Badenhorst (Skegness); Mike Molloy Trophy – Young Player of the Year, J. Cheer (Boston); Tony North Trophy – Most Promising Junior Newcomer, H. Warwick (Grimsby); Lincolnshire Free Press Scorers’ Trophy, Mrs Janet Morris (Boston);

Sibber Addison Memorial Cup, David Ginn; Ann Boulton Services to Cricket award, David Morris (Boston).