Harworking pupils reap rewards

HIGH performing pupils were rewarded at Skegness Grammar School's annual speech day at the Embassy Theatre.

Headteacher Andrew Rigby told the school: "The essence of high performance is in an ethos of strong work ethic, high quality teaching from subject enthusiasts, a desire for learning, ambition and the maturity to show the necessary drive to overcome difficulties.

"This is a recipe that we are resolute in our determination to continue to provide for the town's young people."

Prizewinners were: Lower school prizes for achievement and effort, 1L, Thomas Hebdige, Jack Snell; 1M, Rebecca Wilkinson, Emma Loach; 1N, Nicole Dunkerley, Abigail Fisher; 1T, Grace Pike, Bruce Boldy; 2L, Hannah Baird, Sebastian Booth; 2M, Victoria Marshall, Charlotte Pickering; 2N, Joshua Tipper, Habibah Yasmin; 2T, Emily-Jayne Wellsted, Emma Bates; 3L, Andrew Hewitt, Gina Tupoulahi; 3M Lauren Garrill, Sophie Hurley; 3N, Adam Rushforth, Lewis Willoughby; 3T, Evette Hodson, Hannah Wright.

Key stage three SATS exam prizes, English, Hrushikesh Vyas, mathematics, William Mitchell; science, Lewis Eldin, Philip Quincey.

Middle school prizes, for achievement, Andrew Baird, Jacques Beecher, Charlotte Hope, Rebecca Ward, for effort, Camilla Barker, Kirk Glenn, Aaron Lammiman, Katie Thorndike; Crawshaw cup (best GCSE) endowed by past pupils of the school, Katie Smith, Emily Ward; additional GCSE prizes, Inamul Ahmed, Elizabeth Atiba, Rebecca Cliffe, Gemma Hopkins, Lauren Lake, Daniel O'Loughlin, Emily Rose, Rebecca Taylor; Sharp memorial prize for good progress in KS4, Hannah Cobble, Steven Johnson.

Upper school prizes, lower sixth AS prizes, Michaela Croft, Leah Gray, Alice Hardy, Georgina Morley, Natalie Pryme, Simon Radford, Lahiru Satharasinghe, Laura Wrisdale, William Wrisdale; Pinnion cup for outstanding progress in L6 mathematics, Eleanor Birkbeck; old association cup for best A-level performance, endowed in memory of Melita Bailey, Hannah Harlow, Mark Paradine; the Magdalen cup for science, Ryan Laird; prize for English, Rhianne Muir; prize for mathematics, Mark Paradine; prize for technology, Elliott Crossley, Miss Mann award for a girl going to study medicine, Elena Atkinson; Jose d'Alcorn prize for modern languages, Jessica McGough; Dr Johnson prize for IT, Glen Ihama; humanities and arts, Joseph Hippey; RE prize, endowed by Mr and Mrs Allaway, Max Raane; additional A-level prizes, including prize endowed by Dr and Mrs White, Kerry Bath, Heather Newham, Anna Lenton, Amir Morjaria, Zelfie Newcombe, Ian Randall, Niluka Satharasinghe; leavers' progress prize, Paul Chapman; Julie Ann Malt memorial prize for service to the school, Jessica McGough; McEwan cup for contribution to school sports, Simon Radford; Clark cup for sporting achievement, Anna Lenton; king prize for service, Ryan Laird; head boy's prize, Sharief Aboelmagd; head girl's prize, Elena Atkinson; Skegness Round Table progress award, boys, David Adams, girls, Paula Robinson.

* Share your experiences and memories of Skegness Grammar School in our discussion forum - CLICK HERE.

* See the Skegness Standard on September 28 for more news.

There's lots more on this website, just click on the links below

LINK:Have fun and be safe with our Seasafe campaign, JUST CLICK HERE

LINK:What's on in and around town this week, JUST CLICK HERE

LINK:Lincs Nostalgia, lots of great old pictures, JUST CLICK HERE

LINK:This week's tide times, JUST CLICK HERE

LINK: Welcome to Skegness, JUST CLICK HERE

LINK: Welcome to Mablethorpe and Sutton, JUST CLICK HERE

LINK:News from the Villages, JUST CLICK HERE

LINK:Transport Information, JUST CLICK HERE